Standalone Sunday! 02-12-17

Hey guys!

I hope you’re all having a rocking week and are super excited for Valentine’s day next week! I’m pumped to bring you another round of Standalone Sunday. This meme, created by Megan at bookslayerReads, gives me a chance to tell you all about my favourite standalone books (not part of a series). Yay! So, if you’re interested, click here to check it out.

Since it will be Valentine’s Day on Tuesday, I thought I would tell you guys all about my favourite lovey-dovey romance. The standalone I want to tell you about is Persuasion by Jane Austen.

9781593081300_p0_v1_s1200x630 Persuasion by Jane Austen

Twenty-seven-year old Anne Elliot is Austen’s most adult heroine. Eight years before the story proper begins, she is happily betrothed to a naval officer, Frederick Wentworth, but she precipitously breaks off the engagement when persuaded by her friend Lady Russell that such a match is unworthy. The breakup produces in Anne a deep and long-lasting regret. When later Wentworth returns from sea a rich and successful captain, he finds Anne’s family on the brink of financial ruin and his own sister a tenant in Kellynch Hall, the Elliot estate. All the tension of the novel revolves around one question: Will Anne and Wentworth be reunited in their love?

Jane Austen once compared her writing to painting on a little bit of ivory, 2 inches square. Readers of Persuasion will discover that neither her skill for delicate, ironic observations on social custom, love, and marriage nor her ability to apply a sharp focus lens to English manners and morals has deserted her in her final finished work.

Click here to check out this book on Goodreads

I originally read this masterpiece a few years ago and absolutely loved it. I’m so entirely in love with Frederick Wentworth, guys. I envy Anne to no end on this one. She’s one of the only female protagonists who has respectable taste in men. Seriously. I even mention this book on my top 10 list of all-time faves. This book made me believe in romance during a time in my life that was absolutely full of romantic cynicism. I needed a book just like this one and a guy like Captain Wentworth. I’m so freaking glad I found this book when I did – it was a life saver.

9 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday! 02-12-17

Leave a Reply

