Honeymoon Discovery No. 53: I’m a Disney Princess!!

Hey guys!

I’m back after a relaxing vacation in the Rocky Mountains and I can’t wait to tell you a bit about it. So before we even went to the cabin, the hubby and I made a pit stop at the library because, well, it’s us and this is how we do it. Obviously. So, from the first second, the trip was off to a rocking start. With books. We stayed in one spot in Kananaskis, Canada, but somehow burned through more gas than I ever thought was possible on a never-ending quest for wifi and coffee. We had to drive for an hour to get to the nearest McDonald’s and that is in no way an exaggeration of any kind. I realize as I’m writing this how much of a city girl I really am. Sigh. Luckily, I had books to distract me from the lack of technology. And miles and miles of highway.

img_40871

On one of our trips down the Trans-Canada highway and around the Rocky Mountains, we found a family of elk, a couple of deer, and bunches and bunches of sheep. I think I’m officially licensed as a Disney princess. Seriously. The baby sheep are friggin cute as heck. I wanted to keep one. If only… Anyway, when I think about highlights from the trip and everything that was amazing about it, the sheep were definitely my favourite. Oh my gosh, so so cute. Okay, enough about sheep.

Another reminder of what a city girl I really am: stars. I definitely needed this vacation to remind me that there are things like stars and a whole galaxy that we are a teeny little part of. I guess I forgot about the stars or couldn’t see them with all the lights and skyscraper nonsense going on in the city. Once I saw that there were too many stars and constellations to wrap my head around, I realized how necessary this trip really was for my sanity if nothing else.

Now, let me tell you guys about something truly amazing. We had to drive for an hour to get to this little gem too, but it was amazing and so worth the drive. We stumbled upon this great Mexican restaurant halfway through the week and it was spectacular. Just when I was starting to feel like I needed actual food, we found this place. I loved every bit of it and oh my gosh, I can’t wait for an excuse to go back there. Amazing!

img_4072

It was the perfect trip and totally worth waiting for. I think if we had gone on the trip right after the wedding, I probably would have lost my friggin mind. I was exhausted and overwhelmed by all the lovable crazies and all of the wedding nonsense that goes on. Waiting for a year to go on our honeymoon was a totally solid decision and I would definitely suggest it for anyone that wants to keep their sanity. The first year of marriage is a super weird adjustment and the delayed honeymoon was an amazing vacation.

8 thoughts on “Honeymoon Discovery No. 53: I’m a Disney Princess!!

Leave a Reply

