Review: Thrive: Finding Happiness the Blue Zones Way

I think I’m on a roll here, guys. I just finished another item on the book challenge, Dan Buettner’s Thrive: Finding Happiness the Blue Zones Way, which will absolutely count towards this challenge as a self-improvement book. I feel like this is wonderful news as far as the challenge is concerned because non-fiction is not my favourite, but we nailed it! Imaginary high fives aside, this book was a pretty easy and enlightening read. Also, who doesn’t have room for being a little happier? This book was recommended by a friend, and he seemed to be super interested in the whole book, so I gave it a shot. I tend to be a little bit sceptical of books like this one because there probably isn’t a one-size-fits-all formula for happiness, but I really tried to keep an open mind. I could be missing out on something super awesome, right?

In Thrive, Dan Buettner tells us about these cities and countries where the locals are happier than anywhere else. He  chooses four places that can teach us a thing or two about how to live better and happier, even if we aren’t lucky enough to live there ourselves. He pays a visit to Denmark, Mexico, Singapore, and the USA to teach us what exactly keeps the locals of certain cities smiling so much.

“Gratitude always comes into play; research shows that people are happier if they are grateful for the positive things in their lives, rather than worrying about what might be missing.”

– Thrive : Finding Happiness the Blue Zones Way

Interestingly enough, the happiness factor in each place is extremely different. Whether the smiley factor is an extra helping of vitamin D or trust or security, he let’s us in on the secret to happiness in each place he visits. Even better, Buettner spends the last section of the book giving us extra tips on how we can improve areas of our own lives. This last section was my personal favourite because you can almost read it like a happiness checklist.

After checking off a few of the items on my own happiness checklist, I’m feeling really glad that this book gave me such a sense of direction about the next chunk of my life. If I took away anything from this book, it’s the knowledge that I’m not flying through life quite as quickly and recklessly as I originally thought. That’s always nice to know, right? Flight patterns aside, I was genuinely glad that I followed my friend’s advice and read this book. Reading this kind of felt like getting a whole heap of advice from your wisest friend after they get back from a trip around the world. Who would I recommend this book to? Hmm… I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who feels stuck in a rut or who feels like they could use a bit of a jumpstart in a bit of a different direction. I would recommend this to anyone, basically. It couldn’t hurt to be a little happier, right?

Leave a Reply

